HP dv9235nr Review

Well as you know I update my laptop every couple of years and with the release of Windows Vista, I wanted to get something new fast and cool enough that I wouldn’t be unhappy for the next couple of years.

Honestly I was thinking about my options and I could go small with a UMPC or I could go big!

I decided that it was time to go BIG! Please don’t even try to compare this to a national war strategy because I seriously believe in “downsizing” in that instance.

My requirements:

  1. Something that could run Windows Vista Ultimate in 64-bit mode.
  2. Dual Core support (I won’t buy a single core machine ever again on purpose).
  3. Large display format. I do a lot of design  projects, so I wanted something with at least a 17″ screen that I could show off designs to clients and not have them complain.
  4. Something with Windows Media Center capability. If you don’t use Media Center’s jukebox functionality you are missing out.
  5. A TV Tuner (media center compatible, 32 & 64-bit ready.
  6. A builtin keypad. Yeah I must be getting older or something, but life is just much easier with one on the box.
  7. A webcam (I admit I am jealous of the MacBook’s built in cameras)
  8. a built in microphone.
  9. HDTV compatibility
  10. Kickass 3d graphics (for Star Wars Galaxies and World of Warcraft capable)
  11. Good sound
  12. Built-in Wireless G

Okay so onto the requirements:

The HP comes with a Core 2 Duo T5200 processor that’s 64bit capable. Right now I have yet to install the x64 version of windows vista. I am checking to see that all the drivers have equivalents before making the transition but everything looks greenlight.

It has a nice 17″ widescreen display (1440×900) with a 256 Meg Nvidia Go 7600 gpu. Works great with Vista and is very fast 3d. Handles shader model 3 GPU effects nicely.  In the lid is a 1.3 mp webcam and what looks like a stereo microphone..

It also includes a very nice HDMI port on the side so you can output to any kind of display that supports HDMI (that’s HDTV and 1080p projectors etc..). The sound is very nice and includes altec-lansing speakers.

The TV tuner is on a card, but it’s the new High speed express card format and it does both analog NTSC and digital ATSC HDTV formats.  I watched American Idol in high definition on it while testing with the little  desktop antenna it came with the other night.

Everything has a very nice metal finish that’s easy to clean. And the keypad is great.. DVD recorder in it works great.

HP includes a security package of their own over Vista which improves on the digital dashboard idea, and they have me addicted to bejeweled 2 (thanks HP!)..

Memory is great 2 gigs of RAM 160 gig hard drive. Empty bay for a second hard drive..

All in all I give this an A plus it’s a great unit.. A nice desktop replacement and for $1400 a better buy than the equivalent Dell unit.

Good going HP!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

5 Comments on “HP dv9235nr Review”

  1. teacee Says:

    I also own the HP DV9235nr except it has a few different features, mine has the dual T7200, and it has dual 120gb hard drive, also th HD-DVD/Multi dual layer drive, and a 5in1 media port. zif you plan on using the ne HP for a desktop replacement, do yourself a favor and purchase the XB3000 docking station, which comes with extra usb ports a vga out, builtin Altec Lansing speakers, that really sound great. You can use your laptop power supply to power the docking station, touch controls are built on the front for power sound, sleep and mute, it connects to your laptop with 1 quick release cable, and the rear back side, a compartment slides out, thats where you can add an external hard drive that fits right in the docking stations so no desktop space is needed, and comes in a 300 and 400gb size. It also made PC World Top Laptop in the May 2007 issue, I really enjoy it, and I have a satellite connected so that I can record programs and burn them to DVD via the Windows media center. 2 remotes also provided with the laptop 1 mini and 1 fullsize with more features. You can also warch dvd’s or play cd’s without turning on the laptop using the quick play function.

  2. teacee Says:

    I also own the HP DV9235nr except it has a few different features, mine has the dual T7200, and it has dual 120gb hard drive, also th HD-DVD/Multi dual layer drive, and a 5in1 media port. If you plan on using the new HP for a desktop replacement, do yourself a favor and purchase the XB3000 docking station, which comes with extra usb ports a vga out, builtin Altec Lansing speakers, that really sound great. You can use your laptop power supply to power the docking station, touch controls are built on the front for power sound, sleep and mute, it connects to your laptop with 1 quick release cable, and the rear back side, a compartment slides out, thats where you can add an external hard drive that fits right in the docking stations so no desktop space is needed, and comes in a 300 and 400gb size. It also made PC World Top Laptop in the May 2007 issue, I really enjoy it, and I have a satellite connected so that I can record programs and burn them to DVD via the Windows media center. 2 remotes also provided with the laptop 1 mini and 1 fullsize with more features. You can also warch dvd’s or play cd’s without turning on the laptop using the quick play function.

  3. Kenny W Says:

    yeah,,teacee is right,,,thats my uncle

  4. Maximus Says:

    I would like to see a continuation of the topic


Leave a Reply

